MHA: Calls for Awards

By January 25, 2016

A friendly letter and reminder from the Mormon History Association. Be sure to nominate those who are deserving! Please remember female authors and scholars from underrepresented groups if/when one nominates work. It does not make much time to nominate someone else’s work!]
MHA Logo

MHA Logo

Dear members and friends of the Mormon History Association:

It?s that time of year when we?re actively seeking nominations for our annual publication awards.  Because submission information is currently unavailable on the MHA website, we felt that this email reminder would be timely and helpful.

Remember that the submission deadline is February 1, 2016 for all works that have a 2015 publication/copyright date.
For book awards 
We remind authors and presses that books should be submitted directly by the publisher.  Five copies of each book to be considered should be sent to the MHA office (note the NEW ADDRESS):

Mormon History Association
175 South 1850 East
Heber City, UT  84032

Tona Hangen chairs the book awards committee.

  • Annual Book Awards: 
    • Best Book
    • Best Biography
  • Biennial Book Awards:
    • Best Personal History/Memoir 
    • Best First Book 
    • Best Bibliography/Documentary Editing
    • Best Book on International Mormonism
For article awards
Authors and readers and editors are welcome to submit articles for consideration.  Please submit an electronic copy of the article to Sheree Bench (chair of the article awards committee) at
  • Best Article
  • Article of Merit
  • Best Article on Mormon Women?s History
  • Best Article on International Mormonism
For graduate student work
Authors and advisers are welcome to submit theses, dissertations, and unpublished graduate papers for consideration.  Please submit an electronic copy of the work to Brian Birch (chair of the graduate student work committee) at
  • Best Dissertation
  • Best Thesis
  • Best Unpublished Graduate Paper
It is our pleasure to recognize the outstanding work that has been done in 2015, and we invite your participation in this process!

Any additional, general questions about MHA awards may be sent to J.B. Haws at:   jbhaws@byu.eduKind Regards,

Mormon History Association

Article filed under Miscellaneous


  1. We would like to submit the following book for the First Book Award:

    Irenaeus, Joseph Smith, and God-Making Heresy by

    We will send four copies to the address you provide. Is there also a form to fill out? And I hope that the February 1 deadline is a mailing date?

    Harry Keyishian, Director, Fairleigh Dickinson University Press

    We published several other volumes in our Mormon Studies Series during 2015. (Series Editor: Dr. Rachel Cope). List available.

    Comment by Harry Keyishian — January 25, 2016 @ 11:28 am

  2. Yes, Harry – Feb 1 is the mailing deadline; thanks for getting in touch via email also, we’ll look forward to receiving the book. I thought I’d respond here as well, in case other presses had similar questions.

    At this time, there’s not a form, though most presses usually include a brief cover letter explaining which award they are asking consideration for.

    ~ Tona

    Comment by Tona H — January 25, 2016 @ 4:58 pm


Recent Comments

Matt W. on Mary Frances Sturlaugson, First: “Thank you for this. Mary Eyer is a hero of mine.”

J Stuart on Mary Frances Sturlaugson, First: “I love this so much. That last paragraph hit me really hard.”

David G. on Mary Frances Sturlaugson, First: “Thanks, J!”

Jeff T on Mary Frances Sturlaugson, First: “Nicely done. Thanks, J!”

Amy T on Mary Frances Sturlaugson, First: “Matt W posted about Mary Sturlaugson Eyer back in 2007 (it took a while to find because I didn’t remember which blog it was) and…”

Andrea R-M on Mary Frances Sturlaugson, First: “Thanks, Jessica. I remember that my parents had Mary Sturlaugson's book in our home in Illinois, sometime in the early 1980s, and I think…”